Time Capsule

Margo Roby Poem Tryouts: If You Could
“Say we live in a time where you can order your own pillar of setting. What would you choose to have depicted in your pillar?Or, if you want to feel cosier about it, how about a jar you can place on a shelf.”

Take some star dust from a summer evening
shimmer it around the edges of a cobalt sky
add a sprinkling of fireflies and laughing children
a game of tag, a climbing tree, the sated hum
of a drowsy bee and Mama yelling ‘ten minutes more
a dash of the exquisite agony of saying goodnight
then stir in a bubble bath, sweet line-dried jammies,
a bedtime story to lull to sleep for fairytale
dreams, snug and safe in my twin
bed.
Seal all of my innocent, tender, spent yesterdays
label it Sweet Memories and stash on my shelf
I’ll visit it on cold winter nights when I’m feeling old.

15 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

15 responses to “Time Capsule

  1. How gorgeous. I loved it from the moment I read the title.

    Like

  2. Great choice of words to place in an album of memories.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, oh, OH! Yes. This is incredibly beautiful, Debi. And it makes me miss the fireflies of my youth with an almost physical ache.

    Like

  4. A nice jar to pull from the shelf, indeed! Loved it!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. label it Sweet Memories and save it on my shelf
    I’ll visit it on cold winter nights when I’m feeling old.

    Isn’t it nice! To be remembered and remembering of the good times of old. Those were fleeting moments that can never be relived nor replaced! Thoughtful thoughts Debi!

    Hank

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh, to be there, even in the smaller half of the pull out bed with my feet sticking off…
    And yet very comparable with being a ‘Grama Matresss’ when Little Miss half-wakes from naps and needs some snuggle time…

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I hope my jar can visit your jar!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. What an exquisite memory jar to keep you warm.
    “I can hear the laughter, see the blinking, winking points of light,” she exhaled, the beauty of the poetic words capturing her breath.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

