Spring Song

mindlovemisery prompt by Bastet
“I thought we’d try our hand at writing a poem inspiring ourselves with this lovely “classical” form which we’ll call a hymn … and what can we use to inspire ourselves … well, now that we’re officially at the beginning of winter, why not think a head a little, to spring!

Use the following as a guide for the hymn:

Good King Wenceslas looked out,
on the Feast of Stephen,
When the snow lay round about,
deep and crisp and even;
Brightly shone the moon that night,
tho’ the frost was cruel,
When a poor man came in sight,
gath’ring winter fuel.

John Mason Neale (1853)

 

Persephone, happy maid,
rouged her cheeks and arose. 
Long enough here I have stayed
my feet yearn for meadows. 
The earth rejoiced to see her
upon the dew dancing. 
That is why you see, good sir,
Spring in splendor prancing.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Spring Song

  1. so very spring-like. made my heart smile.

    Like

  2. such a spring idea…love it!

    Like

  3. What a wonderful ode to Spring. I like the “rouged cheeks” “dew dancing” “splendor prancing.”

    Like

  4. Splendor dancing is a lovely image!

    Like

  5. I learned something new with the hymn form. While I’ve sung a few in different congregations I never knew there was a set pattern. I like how you have done spring, I have done summer. We should make a set with autumn and winger –
    Would you like to do that?

    Thanks for stopping by my post on the prompt. The shadorma just tells more of the story but is not necessary to the piece. If we make a set 😉

    Best to you and yours and continue creatively into and beyond the New Year! ~Jules

    Like

  6. Just lovely…clever too !

    Like

  7. Nicely done … a great hymn to spring Debi and love the reference to Persephone! A real delight, I imagine birds and butterflies dancing in the fields … and the first warm winds … Happy New Year! Bastet

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Wonderful, Debi! I love the idea of spring prancing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

