Waiting

mindlovemisery Heeding Haiku With Chèvrefeuille
“I love to challenge you to write a haibun about Winter, if you are living on the Northern hemisphere or about Summer, if you are living on the Southern hemisphere…  and if possible you have to use a kigo or season word in your haiku.”

 

Waiting for the first snowfall. Waiting for the chill that reddens the nose, the cheeks. Waiting for the north wind to sweep the last lingering warmth of the slanting sun deep south again. Waiting for the frozen motes that smell of stinging nettles. Waiting for grey clouds to pucker up and cry bejeweled flakes of fairy dust. Waiting, like an expectant child mouth wide open, to catch a crystal treat. Waiting for that first, fat, fluffy flake to flutter down.

 

The Snow Queen fashions
crystal butterflies in clouds
I can only wait.

You may use a maximum of 100 words (I used 92)

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Waiting

  1. Suzanne

    The way you describe cold snowy winters makes them sound magical. I have seen snow falling once or twice and agree, it is quite magical. What I don’t like is the cold – brrr. I guess it depends what you are used to.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I didn’t see the word count… ooops.

    I think we may be in the same weather loop. And I may have to mow my very green lawn in January!
    I really adore the childlike expectancy of waiting for fairy crafted snow flakes.
    I remember some of the big fluffy ones sticking to my eyelashes…and briefly becoming a winter princess.

    Thanks for stopping by my post on the prompt.
    Wishing a wonderful New Year to you and yours!

    Like

  3. I feel how much you anticipate the snowy weather… I just need to remember be grateful for our snowy weather too….

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Crystal butterflies are divine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

