Tree on the Hillside

dverse Poetics : Coming back Posted by

“So today I ask this question to you – do you want to reborn as who you are? Do you think you could come back like a bird? What would you be looking for if you come back?”

There is a tree out in the field.
Alone it stands on a slight rise.
A massive oak. Old with knowledge
and wily wise of snows and wind.
In summer sun his leafy arms
shade the cows as they linger there
chewing languidly, peaceful repast

One last request my spirit makes
as it leaves this poor clay dwelling,
that I be one with yonder tree.
For heaven resides in that oak
that overlooks God’s handiwork
of field and stream and country things.

 

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Tree on the Hillside

  1. “that I be one with yonder tree”
    — this makes my heart both ache, and sing. I have similar longings. If not sea, then tree. Wonderful, Debi.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. It is funny…last night as I was going to sleep, I was thinking of “in winter, remembering green leaves of summer, singing their little summer song. And now I read your poem…I think that “tree on the hillside,” has summer leaves singing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is beautiful Debi 🙂 it really sings your heart’s desire ❤

    Like

  4. Yes, oh yes! If there could be a heaven on earth, it would indeed be in the oak tree overlooking all God’s beautiful work!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. ShirleyB

    Absolutely lovely.

    ‘A massive oak. Old with knowledge
    and wily wise of snows and wind.
    In summer sun his leafy arms
    shade the cows as they linger there’

    I could almost sing it.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I think you’re already one with that oak. Lovely writing. Enjoyed this so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I want to be one with the massive oak too ~ Such wisdom and strength ~

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This has such a quiet joy to it…I just love it, perfection!

    Like

  9. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)

    I too think that would be a beautiful fate.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Still being an avid tree hugger and climber at 64, this is just perfect for what I could want if I don’t go onward and upward – to be that glorious tree on the hill. Beautiful

    Liked by 1 person

  11. “A massive oak. Old with knowledge
    and wily wise of snows and wind”

    I adore this – simple elements of nature – yet speaks volume of eternity. Thank you for joining my prompt.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. A peaceful existence, I think. Lovely.

    Like

  13. “For heaven resides in that oak
    that overlooks God’s handiwork
    of field and stream and country things.”

    Yes, it does…this is so moving…you have captured the tree’s magnificence and peace so well…I’d love to over look those cows there chewing in the shade, too…sigh.

    Such a beautiful poem Debi.

    Like

  14. Ah yes, a long lived oak must be a kind of heaven. I love the way you almost become one with the tree.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Tree of knowledge..
    form.. so distant..
    lacking
    essence..
    Tree of Life..
    Born again..
    leaves Grass
    Green as LiFe..
    closer..
    Now Real..:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

