How to be the Perfect Fulfilled Woman – A Journey

 

When I was young I had expectations thrust on me. ..
Be polite
Speak when spoken to
Be a lady
Never leave dishes in the sink overnight
Always make the bed each morning
Be nice so you can make friends

You can be…
A nurse (and marry a doctor)
A secretary (and marry the boss)
A school teacher (and marry)
Finish high school – marry
childhood sweetheart
captain of the football team
father of your baby
Go to college (meet someone and get married)

So…
I was nice
married young
had children
good housekeeper
soccer mom
empty nest

I always wanted
to write
now I do
with no expectations
just for the fun of it
because I want to.

Linked to: I rarely link to other sites but these prompts fell in alignment
Music Prompt # 28 withrealtoads Hitting the Road……. with Herotomost
Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Music Prompt # 28  Amanda Palmer
“This song reminds me to stay curious and full of wonder. A sense of “I’m OK to be me.” No matter how old my body gets.”
adashofsunny A Cup of Nostalgia

 

17 thoughts on “How to be the Perfect Fulfilled Woman – A Journey

  1. Oh, this is so touching Debi, being women we are always expected to do what’s right and what we are told. But we always manage to follow our hearts. Beautifully penned. Thank you so much for participating 😀

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ahhhh, the strangest things thrust upon us at a young age, mostly out of our parents and family fears. We dare not step off the preordained path. Wonderful piece, and you keep on writing, it is the thread that ties it all together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

