Connectome

poetsunitedpoetsunited prompt Posted by “Some people always think outside the box, and are recognized as being different, unique or even weird by the rest of the world. Such ‘weirdness’ is very important, inspiring and joyful to them.”

Plugged in to different
against the status quo
eccentric, odd, peculiar
wearer of purple in old age.
Weird is a matter of perception.
With a bit of rearranging
I find my brain
is wired for weird.

A tiny little play with words –wired, weird that’s a little strange isn’t it?

*A connectome is a comprehensive map of neural connections in the brain, and may be thought of as its “wiring diagram”. More broadly, a connectome would include the mapping of all neural connections within an organism’s nervous system.

                               https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Connectome

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Connectome

  1. “I find my brain
    is wired for weird.” ~ I can so much relate to this. Enjoyed reading your poem 🙂

    Like

  2. Ooo…I love your note on wiring and I, too picked up on wired weird! So purple is supposed to leave a lasting impression…if you wear it the first time you meet someone. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such power even in the brevity of your verse 🙂 I especially adore the close.
    Beautifully put.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  4. always enjoy wordplay – interesting take on this somewhat challenging theme too – love the “wearer of purple in old age” p.s. thanks for adding connectome to my lexicon

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah, “wired for weird,” how perfect! Yes, I am growing into my eccentricity quite well, so I can really relate to this. Thanks, Debi. Too long since I last read your work. Amy

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Well, I totally recommend the rewiring if you are not already there. At my age I can be a different as I lease.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I LOVE “I find my brain is wired for weird”. LOL. Mine too.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. As young ones we are often urged to conform and be one of the pack until we realize what fun it is to be weird.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Aha yes – wired and weird – quite logical perhaps..and it’s all about perception..long may you wear purple and your brain be wired for weird – it can yield magical results

    Liked by 1 person

  10. “…my brain
    is wired for weird”

    I love those lines. Perhaps, because they feel so true to me.

    You said so much about humanity and being human in such few lines… ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Luv the word play. Makes weird very interesting

    Much love…

    Liked by 1 person

  12. The joy of aging is abandoning that worry about being weird and just enjoying it.

    Like

  13. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)

    Cute! I like weird. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Enjoyed and agree with your thoughts

    Like

  15. Weird works wonderfully well!

    Like

  16. This piece is so well-done, Debi. I agree with the other comments that the last three lines are real winners. But I also really liked the very first line: “plugged in to different.” — maybe because I definitely am.

    Like

Leave a Reply

