Clover Colored Memories

how-to-make-a-clover-bracelet
picture by www.gracegritsgarden.com

imaginarygarden Bits of Inspiration ~ Bracelet ~ NaPoWriMo 2016 ~ Day 7
imagined by Susie Clevenger

 

Do you remember…
making clover bracelets
and searching for
a leaf of lucky four?
You had a much better eye.

Do you remember…
making mud pies,
decorated with
wild violets, daisies,
and Rose of Sharon?

Do you remember…
hearing the whippoorwill,
the Bob White’s call,
the bull frog’s deep bass
serenade from the pond?

Do you remember…
days of splendid wonder
nights of serene sleep
summers of playing
until the supper call?

I guess that’s what’s best
of getting old, the memories
of our childhood joys.
And isn’t it ironic how
we longed to grow-up?

21 thoughts on “Clover Colored Memories

  1. Very nice, light with a message this morning. Can we change our minds?
    I relate to your experiences more than some, in our country school we had two boys and six girls. I picked lots of wild violets (for the teachers and Mom).
    ..

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Debi, I saw your comment on facebook about having trouble commenting on my site and Poets United……..I think there is some sort of incompatibility between wordpress and google…………not sure what to suggest, is there anywhere on the comment form where you can sign in? You should be able to get to my site and comment through facebook, come to think of it……..If you wanted to join the google linked in network, it would give you easy access to everything, but not everyone wants to belong to so many sites….I know I struggle with that myself. Anyway, thanks for trying and for your lovely comment about my poem. I appreciate it. I am concerned that you are having trouble commenting at Poets United. Keep trying, kiddo, let me know if this problem continues and I’ll ask Mary about it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

