A Suburban Development

imaginarygarden The Tuesday Platform  Imagined By
“As an option, allow yourself to be guided by the concept in Lukas Graham’s song.”

 

I want to tell my story
not because it is unique,
it’s not, just a common
thread of happenstance
poor planning, letting
things happen, never taking
charge, well, until it was
almost too late and even then
I was hoping for a miracle.
Miracles do happen.
We just call it luck, karma, kismet, the stars,
serendipity, good breaks… when everything seems lost.

Is there destiny, a path
plowed just for me?
Or am I turning the sod
one shovelful at a time?
The only thing I know
the girl that started out
disappeared, dissolved,
went up in a puff of smoke,
mirrors and sleight of hand,
pay no attention to the man
behind the curtain, puppeteer,
the strings have finally been cut.
My story is like every other and yet completely unique.
In the beginning and So it ended, hoping for a happy in between.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “A Suburban Development

  1. Whistles!!! 😀 This is absolutely incredible.

    Like

  2. Kerry O'Connor

    It is wonderful to see how these thoughts arose from listening to Lukas Graham’s song. There comes a point when one realizes the person we once were has changed so much as to be unrecognizable, even to self.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent. I can relate to this a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love it! Especially “or am I turning the sod one shovel full at a time?”

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Wonderful, I empathize, well done,,

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The happiness thermometer in between is all that counts really. Thought provoking and interesting poem.Luck certainly plays a part.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. We all end the same, we can only wish to have travelled well.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oh we hope the middle between beginning and ending will be all we want it to be.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Rosemary Nissen-Wade

    ‘My story is like every other and yet completely unique.’ I think that is the crux of it, true for us all.

    Like

  10. Hoping for a happy in between – Just a perfect line

    Like

  11. I love the way each of the stanzas close…really powerful writing on a big topic. I like to think we can believe in miracles, too.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Getting older seems to add more deposits into the question bank.

    Like

Leave a Reply

