Cleaning the Library

This is a repeat and I apologize to those who’ve read it already, but I just got back from a wonderful (busy) week with my four grandsons. I’ll get back in the swing of things soon.

A Dash of Sunny prompt by Sanaa Rizvi
Write a poem or prose piece which is inspired by your favorite author. It can range from an autobiography to a novel. Whichever strikes your poetic muse. You can also opt and choose your favourite quote and go along with it. The possibilities are endless.

 

 

There are rabbits all over the place:
Fiver, Hazel, Bigwig and Buttercup,
poking little noses under the chair,
disturbing dust bunnies sleeping there.
I round them up and stuff them back into their place,
just in time to see Gandalf blowing smoke rings,
oh, so pretty – the colors – the shapes, then I shake myself
and grab a skinny Gollum and a fat little Hobbit
playing riddles and hide and seek,
Gollum hisses at me. What cheek!
But I place them gently in their cubbyhole,
thinking I’ve got the mess licked,
ack, Mrs.Pollifax and Miss Marple are sitting
down and I have no tea ready, so I gently
push them back into the first shelf, then
get back to my dusting, with a longing look
over my shoulder at Mr. Bradbury.

 

Some of my favorite authors and books:

Watership Down
The Hobbit
Agatha Christie
Mrs.Pollifax
Ray Bradbury

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Cleaning the Library

  1. Oh this is absolutely wonderful ❤❤ an excellent adaptation of your favorite books Debi 😀 thank you so much for participating at Prompt Nights and for your constant love and support.

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Like

  2. When the meal is this delicious, no one minds seconds. I, too, am staring at Mr. Bradbury… while thinking of Gollum’s precious.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My house looks rather the same, with books in progress laying in the spot I was before life interrupted me.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dusting ? Now you have made me feel guilty:)Love of books evoked in this charming poem.

    Like

  5. Now that really was a fun read.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. What a delight – like all good treasure it needs to see the light at least twice! I had the sense of excitement of favourite books kept to paw over (pun intended) when we need a little comfort 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Wonderful! I have a habit of just staring at my bookshelves, reading the titles of all my favorites, and smiling! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. This is absolutely delightful — and although I’ve never cared much for those particular authors, I have very similar feelings for the authors I do enjoy. You’ve given us some very real emotions and experiences here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

