Waiting for Richard

mindlovemisery Tell me so I can tell you prompt by Oloriel

“For the prompt, I want you to look at this painting (or the painting of your choice) and describe it to me: just simply describe what is there.
Try to not use any comparisons or excessive adjectives, or even imputing a personal opinion when describing the items. The idea is to list them and name them, in a way you see fit, in an order you see fit.”

 

still-life
*Image found HERE

 

Crab fresh from the sea, caught by Dinsby’s boy this morning, served on Richard’s mother’s blue ware. A nice contrast I thought, though she would have criticized my choice. A stand of lemons, one peeled, to squeeze upon the meat. A glass of buttery chardonnay pairs perfectly. Crusty bread and a side of mixed vegetables will be filling. Concord grapes, a simple, sweet dessert to cleanse the palate.

I stand back and view the tablescape. The butter knife, with its modern ceramic pattern is a bit jarring but Richard and I received it as a wedding gift from cherished friends. It adds a touch of home though we are far away. The only thing I add are his books and a tankard as a bookend. Perhaps after he has dined, Richard will read some poetry to me by the hearth fire’s warm glow.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “Waiting for Richard

  1. You know…your words sound so much appealing than the picture, and the picture is beautiful! I long to taste that “buttery chardonnay” and “crusty bread” with lemon flavoured crab meat. Poetry at the end of such a meal…appealing.

    I think you nailed your prompt!

    Like

  2. I must agree with Risa. I would have never in real life considered this scenery and outlay a meal of my taste, but you make it sound so appealing. I also loved the possibility of poetry awaiting the narrator at the end, I though that was such a nice touch to the story.
    From reading, what I could clearly see and feel and what was definitely evoked was atmosphere. I saw this as happening in some remote cottage by the sea, there is so much light and warmth felt. I though of a nest.
    Thank you very much for participating in the prompt and I hope you had fun writing!

    Like

  3. Great response Debi what I like is the different responses to the same image…and yes like the others I am left feeling hungry…well done.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Khaya Ronkainen

    Wow, you’ve executed this challenge so well. And what a beautiful ending with the last sentence!

    Like

  5. I like where you went with this. Giving a unique life to the illustration.
    I’m always challenged by ‘instructions’ …

    I had a mini mash and a bit of a rebellion 😉
    Ghostly Visitation on the Table

    Easy to believe autumn has arrived when the morning starts out at 50 F.
    Cheers, Jules

    Like

  6. I love your “tablescape” and wish I was a guest! I really miss The Mag, which had artistic prompts every Sunday.

    Like

Leave a Reply

