Renew Your Mind

dverse Razzle Dazzle Me! Posted by
So for today’s Poetics, I’m asking you to kick up your heels a bit with me! Give me the ole razzle dazzle! Sparkle me with a mood”

 

What sleight of hand turned green
to shades of autumn hue
then let them drop in bunches
at the slightest wind that blew?

What forethought made the oaks
yield the acorn for squirrel and deer
teach them where to curl up safely
when the first snows appear?

What imagination put the Dippers
pointing to Polaris in an inky sky
leading travelers northward
to freedom by and by

There is magic and majesty
everywhere you look
planning and provision
from some great ledger book

and season come and season go
and earth still turns on her axis
so midst all the negative is the good
you’ll find it with a little practice.

 

09sep14_430The Big Dipper was an important part of the Underground Railroad during the Civil War. Slaves escaping from the South were told to “follow the Drinking Gourd” to the North, according to the website The Constellations and Their Stars.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Renew Your Mind

  1. I especially love the second stanza! It is so true that there is “magic and majesty” everywhere we look — if we just take the time to look. I find that writing poetry increases the probability that I will look more deeply – is it that way with you? Thank you for posting — I am bedazzled here! 🙂

    Like

  2. I love this poem and the questions it asks. I actually am reading a book by Barbara Hambly in her Ben January series of books that begins with the first, Free Man of Color. Her latest in the series is The Drinking Gourd, based on the Underground Railway and those who helped or followed.

    Like

  3. YES. Wonderful. I love the questions pondered here, just as I love the Creator-Magician who brought all that world to life. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is so magic, reminds me of the importance of Polaris in so many way… i thought that was in the little dipper hmm…

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Big dipper , little dipper, shine the way home…love the connections made and the writing style.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I like how you created this poem Debi the connection to history works so well for me…

    Like

  7. A great reminder. Sometimes it does take practice!

    Like

  8. Oh the wonders of nature and all that is good so beautifully captured here. I love the whole flow of this poem, as if guided by sleight of hand, forethought and majesty ☺

    Liked by 1 person

  9. What wonders….nicely done!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. this is simply beautiful, love the little wonders of nature that you’ve included.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Love this! Especially “There is magic and majesty everywhere you look
    planning and provision from some great ledger book” Beautifully put ❤

    Like

  12. When I see the order that you describe, it affirms my belief that this did not all happen by random chance.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

