Alone in the Watery World

imaginarygarden  “Weekend Mini-Challenge: Out of Your Own Words”
Imagined By Magaly Guerrero

I am alone in a watery world
of people with heads bent
peering through mist and drips
avoiding puddles, car splashes,
hurrying to get inside dry places.

I have a song running in my head
a vision of Gene Kelly dancing
and my feet itch to jump in a puddle
kick water high into the air, twirl,
whirl and swing my umbrella wide.

So I do. Sing with abandon, dance
and splash tap as joy bubbles up.
Oh, “sweet the anonymity walking
in the rain “neath an umbrella”
alone in the watery world

“Sweet the anonymity walking in the rain ‘neath an umbrella.”

My seventeen from: imaginarygarden Micro Poetry ~ Streetlight Rain
Imagined By Kerry O’Connor

 

13 thoughts on “Alone in the Watery World

Leave a Reply

