The Sanity of Solitude

adashofsunny Descent into the abyss of Solitude  prompt by Sanaa Rizvi

“I never found the companion that was so companionable as solitude. We are for the most part more lonely when we go abroad among men than when we stay in our chambers.” – Henry David Thoreau

 

I used to play my music loud
the TV a storm cloud
festering from the den,
everywhere a din – anti-Zen
of clamor and cry, ruptured air,
explosions of sounds, a blare
of wear and tear on nerves
and ear drums…

Now I delight in a steady diet
of discreet… hum of energy an om
of modernity, flowing through the house.
The tinkle of chimes in a light breeze,
the chitter of a hummingbird,
the scuttle of clouds in the sky
just barely heard as they
swiftly pass by

I’m done with mingling
in stuffy rooms talking and talking
of inconsequential things
of politics and fashions,
heated opinions and passions,
I’d rather listen to the breeze
rustling tales in the trees
all whispery, hush-hush

I’ve let my world become quiet
now that I have grown old
for there’s wisdom in the gold
of silence.

 

20 thoughts on “The Sanity of Solitude

  1. Whistles!! ❤️💜Oh this is so beautifully wise and profound, Debi 😀 I agree with the fact that as we grow older and mature, our priorities change, and we learn to enjoy nature while listening to “the breeze rustling tales in the trees all whispery, hush-hush” Sigh.. beautifully rendered. Thank you so much for participating at Prompt Nights and for your constant love and support ❤️💜

    Lots of love,
    Sanaa

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When we truly hear silence I think what we hear are those small movements of life you describe so affectionately.. Learning to live with ourselves..in our head is hard..your poem gives me hope it is possible

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “I’m done with mingling
    in stuffy rooms talking and talking
    of inconsequential things”
    Yes and yes, I’m with you on this; petty talk. And I love wisdom in the gold of silence!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment